MLB Playoffs 2017 Preview and TV Schedule

MLB Playoffs Preview 2017
Jason Miller/Getty Images
Roberto Perez #55 of the Cleveland Indians rounds the bases after hitting a two run home run during the seventh inning against the Minnesota Twins at Progressive Field on September 28, 2017 in Cleveland, Ohio.

The 2017 Major League Baseball regular season ends Oct. 1, and the playoff matchups are mostly set heading into the final weekend.

The Boston Red Sox can clinch the AL East as early as Friday, while the Colorado Rockies and Milwaukee Brewers will make a play for the second NL wild-card spot. The Rockies hold a two-game edge on the Brewers heading into the weekend series. The Rockies host the L.A. Dodgers, and the Brewers wrap up the regular season at the St. Louis Cardinals.

The playoffs begin with wild-card games Oct. 3 on ESPN (AL) and Oct. 4 on TBS (NL). The best-of-three-game Division Series begins Oct. 5 on FS1 or MLB Network (AL), and Oct. 6 on TBS (NL). The best-of-seven AL Championship Series begins Oct. 13 on FOX or FS1, with the NL Championship Series airing exclusively on TBS beginning Oct. 14. The World Series airs on FOX with Game 1 on Oct. 24 from the home park of the team with the better regular-season record. World Series Game 7, if necessary, is Nov. 1.

Major League Baseball 2017 Playoff Picture

American League
Boston Red Sox: Clinched postseason; would host if AL Wild Card
N.Y. Yankees: Clinched postseason; would host if AL Wild Card
Cleveland Indians: Clinched AL Central, ALDS home field
Minnesota Twins: Clinched 2nd AL Wild Card
Houston Astros: Clinched AL West, ALDS home field
National League
Washington Nationals: Clinched NL East, NLDS home field
Chicago Cubs: Clinched NL Central
L.A. Dodgers: Clinched NL West, NLCS home field
Arizona Diamondbacks: Clinched top NL Wild Card; will host
Milwaukee Brewers/Colorado Rockies: Any combination of Colorado wins and Milwaukee losses equaling two will clinch 2nd NL Wild Card for Colorado.

MLB Postseason Schedule At A Glance

Wild-Card Games, ESPN (Oct. 3) & TBS (Oct. 4)
AL Division Series, FS1 or MLB Network (Beginning Oct. 5)
NL Division Series, TBS (Beginning Oct. 6)
AL Championship Series, FOX or FS1 (Beginning Oct. 13)
NL Championship Series, TBS (Beginning Oct. 14)
World Series, FOX (Beginning Oct. 24)