‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Batwoman,’ ‘Star Wars’ & More Spring Book Picks (PHOTOS)

arrow - left
arrow - right
Untitled design - 2019-05-09T161353.905
79013-74150-cover-450x346

Game of Thrones: The Storyboards by William Simpson

No battle sequence will be too dark in this stunning collection of pivotal moments from the HBO epic! Created by GoT‘s lead storyboard artist Simpson and lovingly curated to reflect the scope and creative evolution of the series, the slipcovered edition features thousands of pieces of art that every Throne’r will relish.
$37.42, amazon.com

51RmoS+litL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

Batwoman by Greg Rucka and J.H. Williams III

Gotham City’s out and awesome lesbian defender is heading to her own show on The CW this fall, so superhero fans will want to brush up on her background with this collection from her landmark run from Detective Comics #854-863.
$19.45, amazon.com

51u9PPIgybL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

N0S4A2 by Joe Hill

Stephen King’s kid is at his best with this smartly twisted tale about a demon named Charlie Manx and the supernaturally gifted teen who threatens his child-stealing ways. AMC is unleashing their adaptation in June, so get to reading’ before the show spoils some of the book’s biggest twists!
$12.78, amazon.com

51bERqW621L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Double Exposure by Al Gough and Miles Millar

The guys behind Smallville and Into the Badlands have teamed up for their first novel and it’s as propulsive and exciting as their TV shows! What if WWII was still happening and we had no idea? That’s what a Korean War vet working to preserve classic cinema for the Library of Congress must face after coming across a reel of film that could change history as it’s happening. Set in the ’60s and full of adventure, Exposure is the perfect pick for anyone who likes their fiction fast-paced and full of conspiratorial craftiness.
$17.10, amazon.com

51e7ARPjDNL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai

Bouncing between 1980s Chicago and modern-day Paris, Makkai’s award-winning novel intertwines the onset of the AIDS crisis with a woman’s search for her missing daughter into a masterful, emotional page-turner that has been optioned by Amy Poehler for a possible series.
$17.21, amazon.com

51ulgD8RvtL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

The Hot Zone by Richard Preston

Freak out the germaphobe in your life with this global nonfiction best-seller about the origins of the terrifying Ebola virus and the 1989 scare that found it on American soil. Then check out National Geographic’s unsettling three-part adaptation starring Julianna Margulies. Purel not included.
$7.99, amazon.com

51-u7bx505L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

The Witch Elm by Tana French

Starz has optioned the Ireland-based American writer’s “Dublin Murder Squad” novels (In the Woods and The Likeness) for an upcoming series, so spare your favorite whodunnit aficionado those spoilers and hook ’em up with French’s standalone thriller about a likable chap who runs afoul of two burglars. Stephen King called it “extraordinary” and he knows a few things about books.
$16.05, amazon.com

$7.99, amazon.com

Nashville_Sound

Nashville Sound: An Illustrated Timeline by Don Cusic

For those of us still mourning the late Nashville or even just closet CMA addicts, this rockin’ tome from Reedy Press colorfully maps out the town’s deep history and all of the genres—gospel, contemporary Christian music, R&B, rock and even classical—that make Nashville the hottest spot on the dial.
$32.98, amazon.com

51ilYKzceyL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah E. Harkness

Like a way smarter Twilight for grownups, the basis of AMC and Sundance Now’s supernatural series is a sweeping romantic thrill ride about a historian who learns more about her own heritage after teaming with a centuries-old vampire in search of a bedeviled, ancient text. Part one of the All Souls Trilogy and addictive as hell.
$21.25, amazon.com

78429-67177-cover

Star Wars Icons: Han Solo by Gina McIntyre

We all know someone who needs this nerd-tastic tome from Insight Editions! A glossy, gorgeous celebration of the galaxy’s greatest Kessel Running smuggler-turned-hero through unseen photos, concept art, and exclusive interviews with everyone from Harrison Ford and Alden Ehrenreich to Mark Hamill and the late Peter Mayhew.
$31.45, amazon.com

78712-73678-cover

The Corleone Family Cookbook by Liliana Battle

Imagine your own godfather’s face when they peep these 75 recipes—including Clemenza’s sauce and a “Leave the Gun” cannoli—mixed in with pics from The Godfather trilogy. And then imagine actually getting to enjoy the meals from this gem! How can you refuse that offer?!
$22.48, amazon.com

1 of

The days are finally longer, TV seasons are wrapping up, and there are scads of fun reads out there for folks looking to fill their blessed free time.

So whether these books are going to moms, dads or grads — or just treating yo’ self! — here are some of our favorite picks that are perfect for anyone with entertainment on the brain.

Click through the gallery above for picks for fans of Game of Thrones, DC Comics, and more!