The CW Announces ‘MADtv’ Reboot—Who Was the Best Cast Member?

Eric Candless/Warner Bros. Television
Former MADtv-ers Alex Borstein, Nicole Sullivan, Arden Myrin, Debra Wilson, Stephnie Weir, Crista Flanagan and Phil LaMarr (Back Row): Eric Price, Nicole Randall Johnson, Ike Barinholtz, Will Sasso, Mo Collins and Michael McDonald

The CW’s nights are about to get a bit more MAD. The network has ordered eight hourlong episodes of the sketch comedy series, MADtv. The announcement came three months after the network reunited a portion of the cast in celebration of the series’ 20th anniversary.

CW brass reveals that the series will feature new and returning cast members. And while they haven’t yet named names, it gives plenty of opportunity for speculation and—of course—a poll! The network has revealed that the returning cast members will appear as hosts of each episode, but doesn’t clarify whether the alumni will perform, or reboot classic characters.

I would give anything to see the return of Michael McDonald as rosy-cheeked, man-child Stewart. And Key and Peele are unstoppable, so I vote for any show that gives them a chance to perform. Or, for that matter, anyone who gives Debra Wilson an opportunity to do what she does best. And what has Bobby Lee been up to?

No premiere date has been set for the MADtv return.

MADtv debuted in 1995 and aired Saturday nights on FOX, and was also syndicated on Comedy Central, before going off the air in 2009. Selected episodes from the MADtv vault can currently be found on CW Seed, the CW’s digital streaming network.