Jill Soloway, Tony Hale and Niecy Nash Among Television Industry Advocacy Award Honorees

21st Annual Critics' Choice Awards, Niecy Nash
Steve Granitz/WireImage
SANTA MONICA, CA - JANUARY 17: Actress Niecy Nash attends the 21st Annual Critics' Choice Awards at Barker Hangar on January 17, 2016 in Santa Monica, California. (Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage)

One of the most powerful things an actor, writer, or producer in the entertainment industry can do is use their position to advocate for an issue that’s near and dear to their hearts. On Emmy weekend, some of television’s finest will be given the Television Industry Advocacy Award, in a ceremony benefiting the Creative Coalition and hosted by TV Guide Magazine and TV Insider.

RELATED: The People V. O.J. Simpson Wins Big at TCA Awards; Mr. Robot and Black-ish Grab Awards

Among the winners will be Jill Soloway for bringing awareness to LGBTQ issues through her show Transparent, Tony Hale (Veep) for his work with the International Justice Mission, Niecy Nash (Getting On), for her work with the Amazing Grace, Conservatory, Derek Hough (Dancing with the Stars) for his involvement with One Life at a Time and Sophie’s Place, Reid Scott (Veep) for his efforts on behalf of Oceana, Dean Norris (Under the Dome) for his work with the Wounded Warrior Project, and Sandra Lee (Good Morning America) for her efforts on behalf of breast cancer awareness. Other recipients will be announced.

The award ceremony, to be held on Friday, September 16 in West Hollywood, will be hosted by Wendi McLendon-Covey (The Goldbergs); among the presenters will be Ben Feldman (Superstore), Betsy Brandt (Breaking Bad) and Michaela Watkins (Casual), with more to be announced. An special insert with the recipients will be in an upcoming issue of TV Guide Magazine.

The official press release is below:


Honorees include Jill Soloway, Tony Hale, Michael Kelly, Niecy Nash,
Derek Hough, Reid Scott, Dean Norris, Sandra Lee;
Hosted by Wendi McLendon-Covey

Sponsored by BBVA Compass

Los Angeles, CA (September 2, 2016) – This year’s Emmy nominees Jill Soloway (Transparent), Tony Hale (Veep), Michael Kelly (House of Cards), Niecy Nash (Getting On) and Derek Hough (Dancing with the Stars), are among those being honored at the Television Industry Advocacy Awards that will kick off Emmy weekend on Friday evening, September 16th at the Sunset Tower Hotel in Los Angeles. Other honorees include Reid Scott (Veep), Dean Norris (Under the Dome), Sandra Lee (Good Morning America), and others TBA. Wendi McLendon-Covey (The Goldbergs) will host the evening’s ceremony.

The Television Industry Advocacy Awards benefiting The Creative Coalition hosted by TV Guide Magazine and TV Insider salute television industry leaders who use the power of their celebrity to advocate for social change. Honorees will be featured in a special section of TV Guide Magazine and its companion site, TVInsider.com, which will highlight their important philanthropic work.

CEO of The Creative Coalition Robin Bronk said, “Doing well by doing good – it’s what makes this particular award special as a catalyst to encourage artists in the entertainment industry to use their powerful platforms to inspire positive change in the world. It’s about the art of selflessness. We are proud to partner with TV Guide Magazine on this initiative.”

“TV Guide Magazine is pleased to host The Television Industry Advocacy Awards. We are honored to partner with The Creative Coalition to pay tribute and spotlight talented individuals, all of whom realize the importance of paying it forward. Television is a great platform for influence, and we salute those who use this great power and privilege to serve the common good,” said TV Guide Magazine President Paul Turcotte.

BBVA Compass, one of the top 25 banks in the U.S., will serve as the title sponsor of the event as part of its own commitment to giving back and building #BrightFutures in which everyone has the chance to fulfill their dreams, to feel safe and secure financially, and to act on life’s limitless opportunities.