‘MADtv’s 20th Anniversary Reunion Special: Keegan-Michael Key, Ike Barinholtz and More Comedians Return

The CW

MADtv is bringing back the laughs for one night only.


Laughing out loud

The classic sketch comedy series—which ran for 14 seasons on Fox—celebrates its 20th anniversary with a one-hour primetime retrospective entitled MADtv 20th Anniversary Reunion airing Tuesday, January 12 at 8/7c on The CW.

In the special, 19 MADtv alumni reunite to attend a fancy award ceremony honoring the series, but as the evening gets underway, nothing goes as planned. New comedy bits will be showcased alongside classic clips featuring the best of the show’s original characters and pop culture parodies.

The returning cast members include Ike Barinholtz, Alex Borstein, Mo Collins, Crista Flanagan, Anjelah Johnson, Nicole Randall Johnson, Keegan-Michael Key, Phil LaMarr, Artie Lange, Bobby Lee, Michael McDonald, Arden Myrin, Nicole Parker, Eric Price, Will Sasso, Aries Spears, Nicole Sullivan, Stephnie Weir and Debra Wilson.

RELATED: How Paul Scheer Became TV’s Hardest-Working Comedian

In addition to the special, 75 of the funniest MADtv episodes will be made available to stream on The CW’s digital network CW Seed beginning on January 5.

MADtv premiered on October 14, 1995 and aired over 300 episodes until its series finale on May 16, 2009. The show won five Emmy awards during its tenure, and produced some of today’s most well known comedians including Key & Peele‘s Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele, Family Guy‘s Alex Borstein, The Mindy Project‘s Ike Barinholtz and Sleepy Hollow‘s Orlando Jones.

The MADtv 20th Anniversary Reunion is produced by Telepictures and Epicenter Ventures, with David E. Salzman as executive producer. It was written by John Crane and directed by Bruce Leddy, with Rick Squire as the executive in charge and Adam Salzman as supervising producer.