NBC Orders Time Travel Drama ‘Timeless’ From Shawn Ryan and Eric Kripke

Joe Lederer/NBC

Another time travel series is heading to television next season.

NBC has ordered the action thriller Timeless from writers and executive producers Shawn Ryan (The Shield) and Eric Kripke (Supernatural). When a dangerous criminal steals a time machine with the intent to change the past and destroy America, it’s up to a scientist, a soldier and a history professor to follow him back in time to stop his path of destruction.

Timeless stars Abigail Spencer, Matt Lanter, Malcolm Barrett, Goran Visnjic, Paterson Joseph, Sakina Jaffrey and Claudia Doumit.

Timeless is produced by Davis Entertainment, Kripke Enterprises and MiddKid Productions in association with Sony Pictures Television. John Davis, John Fox, Marney Hochman and director Neil Marshall also serve as executive producers.

Timeless is now the fourth new series ordered by the networks with time-travel as its central premise, following Fox’s Making History, ABC’s Time After Time and The CW’s Frequency.