Film Independent Spirit Awards Reveals More of This Year’s Presenters

Spirit Awards Presenters
Clockwise from Left: Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic; Jennifer Graylock (3); Michael Williams/
Spirit Awards Presenters

The Film Independent Spirit Awards has tapped the final five presenters for this year’s ceremony. Added to the mix are Michael Peña (Cesar Chavez, Fury), Marisa Tomei (Spare Parts), Carmen Ejogo (Selma), David Oyelowo (Interstellar) and Andy Samberg (Brooklyn Nine-Nine).

Peña, Tomei, Ejogo, Oyelowo and Samberg (who hosted the awards show in 2013) join an all-star line-up of presenters, including Oprah Winfrey, Kristen Wiig,, Zach Galifianakis. Ethan Hawke, Cate Blanchett, Kerry Washington, Olivia Munn, Julianne Moore, Diego Luna, JK Simmons, Emmy Rossum and Emma Stone.

Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell are hosting this year’s show, which takes place in Santa Monica on Saturday, Feb. 21, and will air live on IFC at 5/4c.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Film Independent Spirit Awards, which honors the best in indie filmmaking. Awards are given for Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (best feature budgeted under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, the Robert Altman Award, Best International Film and Best Documentary.

Here’s an exclusive video highlighting three decades of the awards: