Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood to Host the Daytime Emmys

Mario Lopez, Sheryl Underwood
Matt Winkelmeyer, Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

Extra anchor Mario Lopez and The Talk panelist Sheryl Underwood are to co-host the 44th annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

The ceremony is to take place April 30 at California's Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

"The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is happy to announce that two of daytime television's brightest stars, Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood, will lead the magnificent celebration planned for this year's 44th Daytime Emmy Awards," Bob Mauro, president of NATAS, said in a statement Tuesday.

2017 Daytime Emmy Awards Nominations Revealed

2017 Daytime Emmy Awards Nominations Revealed

The annual awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, April 30.

"I am thrilled to have one of the most entertaining combinations in daytime television hosting our grand gala at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium," added David Michaels, senior vice president of daytime for NATAS. "With their combined wit and charm, plus the excitement of Mary Hart receiving this year's lifetime achievement award not to mention the stars of the nominated drama, talk, culinary and game shows and a stellar list of presenters to be announced later this week, it promises to be a memorable night for the daytime community."

By Karen Butler

Originally published in UPI Entertainment News.